24th ACM UIST Symposium - Santa Barbara, CA
24th UIST @ Santa Barbara, CA






Sponsored by


Previous UIST

UIST Archives


The list of Best Paper, Notable Paper, and Lasting Impact award winners is below!

October 16-19, 2011 | Santa Barbara, CA

UIST (ACM Symposium on User Interface Software and Technology) is the premier forum for innovations in the software and technology of human-computer interfaces. Sponsored by ACM's special interest groups on computer-human interaction (SIGCHI) and computer graphics (SIGGRAPH), UIST brings together researchers and practitioners from diverse areas that include traditional graphical & web user interfaces, tangible & ubiquitous computing, virtual & augmented reality, multimedia, new input & output devices, and CSCW. The intimate size, single track, and comfortable surroundings make this symposium an ideal opportunity to exchange research results and implementation experiences.  

Jeff Pierce photo
Jeff Pierce
General Chair

Best Paper Award

SideBySide: Ad-hoc Multi-user Interaction with Handheld Projectors
Karl D.D. Willis, Carnegie Mellon University, Disney Research Pittsburgh
Ivan Poupyrev, Disney Research Pittsburgh
Scott E Hudson, Carnegie Mellon University
Moshe Mahler, Disney Research Pittsburgh

Notable Paper Awards

Cracking the Cocoa Nut: User Interface Programming at Runtime
James Eagan, LRI (Univ. Paris-Sud & CNRS), INRIA
Michel Beaudouin-Lafon, LRI (Univ. Paris-Sud & CNRS), INRIA
Wendy Mackay, INRIA, LRI (Univ. Paris-Sud & CNRS)

ReVision: Automated Classification, Analysis and Redesign of Chart Images
Manolis Savva, Stanford University
Nicholas Kong, University of California, Berkeley
Arti Chhajta, Stanford University
Li Fei-Fei, Stanford University
Maneesh Agrawala, University of California, Berkeley
Jeffrey Heer, Stanford University

Modular and Deformable Touch-Sensitive Surfaces Based on Time Domain Reflectometry
Raphael Wimmer, University of Munich
Patrick Baudisch, Hasso Plattner Institute

Lasting Impact Award

Sensing Techniques for Mobile Interaction
Ken Hinckley, Jeff Pierce, Mike Sinclair, Eric Horvitz.
Proc. UIST 2000, pp. 91-100.

UIST 2011 Keynote Speakers

Ge Wang
Stanford University

Dan Jurafsky
Stanford University


Corporate support




ACM: The Association for Computing Machinery