The ACM Symposium on User Interface Software and Technology (UIST) is the premier forum for innovations in human-computer interfaces. Sponsored by ACM special interest groups on computer-human interaction (SIGCHI) and computer graphics (SIGGRAPH), UIST brings together people from diverse areas including graphical & web user interfaces, tangible & ubiquitous computing, virtual & augmented reality, multimedia, new input & output devices, and CSCW. The intimate size and intensive program make UIST an ideal opportunity to exchange research results and ideas. Join us in Tokyo!

Keynote Speakers

Takeo Kanade

Carnegie Mellon University

Opening keynote

Smart Headlight: An Application of Projector-Camera Vision

A projector manipulates outgoing light rays, while a camera records incoming ones. Combining these optically inverse devices, especially in a coaxial manner, creates the possibility of a new computer-vision technology. The “Smart Headlight,” currently under development at Carnegie Mellon’s Robotics Institute, is one example: a device that can “erase” raindrops or snowflakes from a driver’s sight, allowing for continuous use of the “high beams” mode while not causing glare against oncoming drivers, and enhance the appearance of important objects, such as pedestrians. In that sense, it constitutes a “genuine” augmented reality, manipulating the reality for how it appears to a viewer, rather than merely overlaying objects on the image of the reality. This talk will present the state of the Smart Headlight project and discuss further possible applications of projector-camera systems.

Takeo Kanade is the U. A. and Helen Whitaker University Professor of Computer Science and Robotics at Carnegie Mellon University. He received his Doctoral degree in Electrical Engineering from Kyoto University, Japan, in 1974. After holding a faculty position in the Department of Information Science, Kyoto University, he joined Carnegie Mellon University in 1980. He was the Director of the Robotics Institute from 1992 to 2001, and a founding Director of Quality of Life Technology Research Center from 2006 to 2012. In Japan, he founded the Digital Human Research Center in Tokyo and served as the founding director from 2001 to 2010. Dr. Kanade works in multiple areas of robotics: computer vision, multi-media, manipulators, autonomous mobile robots, medical robotics and sensors and has written more than 400 technical papers and reports in these areas, and holds more than 25 patents.

Dr. Kanade has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, and also to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The awards he received include the Kyoto Prize, the Benjamin Franklin Institute Medal and Bower Prize, C&C Award, Okawa Award, Tateisi Prize Grand Award, ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award, IEEE Robotics and Automation Society Pioneer Award, Joseph Engelberger Award, and ICCV Azriel Rosenfeld Lifetime Accomplishment Award.

Naoto Fukasawa


Closing keynote


A single design is one molecule that contributes to the atmosphere of the whole environment”. This is the basic idea of design in this age.
That is to say, designing today seems to embodying the subject by its surroundings, rather than by the subject itself.

Product Designer Born in 1956. Designing shape is to give form to values that people tacitly share and wish for. Naoto Fukasawa visually captures these values and he draws the exact outline of them. His ability for visualising such unseen outlines for things is not easily worded and described, nonetheless, people are convinced with his ability when they experience his design. Fukasawa’s notions and expressions to approach essential values of things through design travel beyond borders or domains and his thoughts are well respected internationally. His concept for finding hints in subconscious behaviour of people which he named “Without Thought”, is most known and he runs “Without Thought” workshops to share his thoughts.

Fukasawa collaborates with world leading companies and brands in such countries as Italy, France, Germany, Switzerland, Spain, Scandinavian countries and Asian countries while consulting Japanese leading companies locally. His area of work is broad and he works with various fields in design beyond categories.Consulting works for Japanese companies are mainly focused on evaluating their cooperate strategies in line with the mean of sociality and how we define quality of life in order to direct the companies towards where society is inevitably heading. Such consulting work extends as far as to visualise design for their products which marks the company’s social responsibilities as well as to visualise their cooperate strategies and Fukasawa‘s work for consulting has led them to many successful results. Full bio


Name Date
Papers & Notes April 13 (Wed), 2016
Posters July 7 (Thu), 2016
Demos July 7 (Thu), 2016
Doctoral Symposium July 7 (Thu), 2016
Student Volunteers July 25 (Mon), 2016
Student Innovation Contest August 15 (Mon), 2016


General Co-Chairs


Jun Rekimoto

University of Tokyo

Takeo Igarashi

University of Tokyo

Program Committee Co-Chairs


Jacob O. Wobbrock

University of Washington

Sponsorship Chair


Daniel Wigdor

University of Toronto

Koji Yatani

University of Tokyo

Demo Committee Chairs


Yuta Sugiura

Keio University

Poster Committee Chair


Stefanie Mueller


Treasurer and Local Arrangements


Daisuke Sakamoto

University of Tokyo

Publicity Chair


Rong-Hao Liang

National Taiwan University

Doctoral Symposium Chair


Patrick Baudisch


Hiromi Nakamura

University of Tokyo

Student Innovation Contest Co-Chairs


Pedro Lopes


Lining Yao

MIT Media Lab

Video Previews Chair


Justin Matejka

Autodesk Research

Jarrod Knibbe

University of Copenhagen

Registration Chair


Jessica Cauchard

Stanford University

Nicholas Chen

Microsoft Research

Keynote Chair


Yoshifumi Kitamura

Tohoku University

Student Volunteer Chair


Interactive Program Guide Chair


Stephen Oney

University of Michigan

Web and Social Media Chair


Ryo Suzuki

University of Colorado Boulder

Conference Documentation Chair


Gilbert Bernstein

Stanford University

Alexandra Ion


Lasting Impact Award Chair


Steven Feiner

Columbia University

Proceedings Chair


Xing-dong Yang

Dartmouth College

Award Chair


Design and Signage Chair


Yasuaki Kakehi

Keio University

Wataru Kobara

Keio University

Accessibility Chair


Masatomo Kobayashi

IBM Research - Tokyo

Co-located Events


Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors

Institution Supporters