Quebec City, Canada


The ACM Symposium on User Interface Software and Technology (UIST) is the premier forum for innovations in Human-Computer Interfaces. Sponsored by ACM Special Interest Groups on Computer-Human Interaction (SIGCHI) and Computer Graphics (SIGGRAPH), UIST brings together people from diverse areas including graphical & web user interfaces, tangible & ubiquitous computing, virtual & augmented reality, multimedia, new input & output devices, and CSCW. The intimate size and intensive program make UIST an ideal opportunity to exchange research results and ideas. Join us in Quebec City!

Important Dates

For more detailed timelines, check out the Call for Participation.

Posters, Demos, Doctoral Symposium
Student Innovation Contest
Student Volunteers
Conference starts

Keynote Speakers

Photo of Gabriella Coleman

Gabriella Coleman

Gabriella (Biella) Coleman holds the Wolfe Chair in Scientific and Technological Literacy at McGill University. Trained as an anthropologist, her scholarship explores the intersection of the cultures of hacking and politics, with a focus on the sociopolitical implications of the free software movement and the digital protest ensemble Anonymous.

She has authored two books, Coding Freedom: The Ethics and Aesthetics of Hacking (Princeton University Press, 2012) and Hacker, Hoaxer, Whistleblower, Spy: The Many Faces of Anonymous (Verso, 2014), which was named to Kirkus Reviews’Best Books of 2014 and was awarded the Diana Forsythe Prize by the American Anthropological Association. Her work has been featured in numerous scholarly journals and edited volumes. Committed to public ethnography, she routinely presents her work to diverse audiences, teaches undergraduate and graduate courses, and has written for popular media outlets, including the New York Times, Slate, Wired, MIT Technology Review, Huffington Post, and the Atlantic. She sits on the board of Equalitie, The Tor Project, the Advisory Board of Data and Society,and the Social Science Advisory Board of the National Center for Women and Information Technology.

Photo of Niki Kittur

Niki Kittur

Niki Kittur is an Associate Professor and holds the Cooper-Siegel Chair in the Human-Computer Interaction Institute at Carnegie Mellon University. His research on crowd-augmented cognition looks at how we can augment the human intellect using crowds and computation. He has authored and co-authored more than 70 peer-reviewed papers, 13 of which have received best paper awards or honorable mentions. Dr. Kittur is a Kavli fellow, has received an NSF CAREER award, the Allen Newell Award for Research Excellence, major research grants from NSF, NIH, Google, and Microsoft, and his work has been reported in venues including Nature News, The Economist, The Wall Street Journal, NPR, Slashdot, and the Chronicle of Higher Education. He received a BA in Psychology and Computer Science at Princeton, and a PhD in Cognitive Psychology from UCLA.


General Chair

Program Committee Chairs

Sponsorship Chairs

Demo Chairs

Posters Chairs

Doctoral Symposium Chair

Registration Chairs

Student Volunteer Chairs

Student Innovation Contest Chairs

Local Arrangements Chair

Lasting Impact Chair

Awards Chair

Documentation Chair

Proceedings Chairs

Web Chair

Recreation Chair

Publicity Chair

Program Committee

Jürgen Steimle Saarland University
Azza Abouzied NYU Abu Dhabi
Dan Ashbrook Rochester Institute of Technology
Michel Beaudouin-Lafon Université Paris-Sud
Bo Begole Huawei R&D
Anastasia Bezerianos Université Paris-Sud
Steve Feiner Columbia University
Hans Gellersen Lancaster University
Björn Hartmann University of California, Berkeley
Shaun Kane University of Colorado Boulder
Per Ola Kristensson University of Cambridge
Walter Lasecki University of Michigan
Pedro Lopes Hasso Plattner Institute
Wendy Mackay INRIA
Stefanie Mueller Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jeff Nichols Google
Stephen Oney University of Michigan
Bing-Yu Chen National Taiwan University
Alanson Sample Disney Research
Koji Yatani University of Tokyo
Christian Holz Microsoft Research
Ranjitha Kumar University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Kotoro Hara Carnegie Mellon University
Tico Ballagas HP
Scott Klemmer University of California, San Diego
Tovi Grossman Autodesk Research
Sean Follmer Stanford University
Antti Oulasvirta Aalto University
Michelle Annett University of Toronto
Jun Kato National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan
Andrea Colaco Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Celine Latulipe UNC Charlotte
Juho Kim KAIST
Rong-Hao Liang Eindhoven University of Technology
Andreas Bulling Max Planck Institute for Informatics
Ricardo Jota Tactual Labs
Hao Chu National Taiwan University
Audrey Girouard Carleton University
Kori Inkpen Microsoft Research
Michael Haller University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria